Shopify Reviews

OUR SCORE
9.0

Powerful yet easy to use software to help you create your online shop. With more than 50 responsive themes, 1100 apps Shopify has everything needed for an online store.

  •     Free trial for 14 days, Premium starts at $29
  •     Over 50 Responsive Themes and 1100 Apps
  •     27/7 Extraordinary Support- Live Chat, Email and Phone

15 Shopify User Reviews

Scores

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Overall

15 Reviews
4.3 out of 5 Stars

Tried Shopify?

Write A Review

User Reviews

Careran
ccsidewalk.com
May 25, 2017

We run several stores on the Shopify platform and we love them. We find Shopify to be easy and thorough. Better yet, a user could more or less tailor their Shopify experience for their own level of expertise. From very basic to fairly complex.

We run the basic $29 store for most of our sites and that has plenty of functionality. There is a wide range of add-on apps available, some free some not. But a person could run a decent store without ever adding a for-pay app.

We not only chose Shopify, we chose it many times!

Overall Score
5.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Bill Bies
OneLogFire.com
May 25, 2017

Really easy to use and great support

Overall Score
5.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Sean
AdventureHunt.co
May 24, 2017

Love Shopify. Easy to use, looks great. One stop shop for sure. 

Overall Score
4.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Jacob G
venvii.com, sikegang.com, enviiwholesale.com
May 24, 2017

Shopify is great. Ive used at least ten other companies like it but Shopify is the only site I would use for web design. There are a few reason for this.

Although I gave pricing 3 stars, I believe its worth every penny. Value isn’t free, or cheap for that matter. There are other sites out there that cost way less but you don’t get nearly as much.

The support seemed a tad lazy but they they have resolved every issue I’ve had so far, so I cant really complain about that except for that I wish they were a tad more enthusiastic about trying to help me.

As for templates, you can pretty much find anything you will ever need, some of the nicer templates you will have to pay a one time fee for but again, in my opinion its worth it. There are always free themes as well if you don’t wish to pay.  I wish that you were able to customize the templates a little easier (without having to change so much code) but I’m not an expert in this area and I’m not sure its even possible.

The flexibility of Shopify is nearly endless for ecommerce if you take the time, do some research and learn a little coding (its not that hard if you set your mind to it). The fact that you can design a site and have it up and running within one day is amazing to me. No, you’re not going to be making the next Uber site with Shopify but I think this section still deserves 5 stars.

All in all, I’ve done the research. I’ve tried other sites and I would still pick Shopify 10 times out of 10 for any online business.

Overall Score
4.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Luke Winter
woodzee.com
May 24, 2017

Great platform but the pricing is too high and about to get even higher. Check the various options for your needs before signing up.

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Samit Malkani
poppadumart.com
May 24, 2017

An extremely simple, well-priced platform. I was able to set up our store in no time, and the templates drove an immediate lift in sales as compared to our previous platform.

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Sanjay Aggarwal
Www.spicekitchenuk.com
May 23, 2017

Brilliant, massive help and excellent support 

Overall Score
5.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
vanessa garcia
www.prettygirlcurves.com
May 23, 2017

I like shopify but ever since i switched from big cartel to shopify i have been struggling for 2 years i am doing all there is for marketing and i dont see much return I do FB , IG , Google adwords , Email marketing . 

Overall Score
2.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Anna Manning
TheLittleGreenStore.net
May 23, 2017

Shopify makes it easy to show off and sell the unique pieces we have at our gallery.  It’s very easy to upload photos of individual products. We also enjoy some of the apps associated with Shopify, especially gift Reggie which makes it simple for brides to register with our store. 

Overall Score
4.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Steve B
http:\\www.lampsusa.com
May 22, 2017

Great host and ecommerce partner. Shopify always answers the phone to fix problems. Great uptime.  Basic package could have more features, but lots of apps help fill the gaps.

A few limitations prevent a perfect score. Filtering is difficult for more than 1000 items.

Variants are a bit cumbersome. Limited changes to checkout.

Overall Score
4.6
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
David
https://thefidgetbeaver.com
May 22, 2017

DON’T USE STRIPE IF DROPSHIPPING!!!

THIS IS A LETTER OF WARNING TO MY FELLOW DROPSHIPPERS THINKING OF MOVING TO SHOPIFY. UNLESS YOU CAN AFFORD TO USE AUTHORIZE.NET (49 A MONTH) TO DO PAYMENTS, SHOPIFY WILL HOLD 25% OF YOUR FUNDS FOR 90 DAYS IF YOU ARE DROPSHIPPING – EITHER ONLY GET PEOPLE TO PAY WITH PAYPAL OR GO WITH SOMETHING ELSE – OTHER THAN THAT – IT’S AMAZING

Overall Score
4.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
May 19, 2017

It’s extremely easy to create a professional online store in Shopify, but the best part is the huge variety of themes and apps available that will allow you to do virtually anything you need.

Overall Score
4.6
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
'LeD' Giray
www.graphicartist.ph
May 19, 2017

The design is very basic and all placed in boxes architecture. There is no complexity to the design and just a plug-and-play layout.

The only thing I like about Shopify is their payment gateway. Which can help you save transaction costs if you are from United States, Australia, Canada, and Ireland. For those from other neighboring countries, Shopify supports 70 payment gateways to accept credit card payments. PayPal can also be integrated directly into the payment section.

Overall Score
3.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Matt DeCelles
www.williampainter.com
May 18, 2017

We love the Shopify platform.

It is quick and easy to make changes, has a streamlined checkout process, and has robust integrations like Fomo, YOTPO, etc. 

It is fairly inexpensive to start with but certainly increases substantially with Shopify +. This could certainly be a burden for a small business. 

We haven’t used Shopify payments but plan to move to it shortly.  

We do 7 figures on Shopify and for e-commerce we believe it’s the best platform out there. 

Overall Score
4.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Shane S Conrad
www.shopbeyond-u.com
May 18, 2017

Shopify as a platform is fantastic. Having ran and sold a few ecommerce businesses, I have had the opportunity to many competitors. Some FREE and others more pricey. Shopify thus far has been the easiest to use.

The support provided is usually very quick to respond and always friendly. I normally wait no more than 24 hours, in the case there is not a specialist available right away.

The templates and designs are crisp and clean. While there are many paid options, luckily, most are free. The free designs are commonly used but most have the same features and great visuals that you would find with paid options. Ultimately, it comes down to your preference.

Shopify is simple to use with apps, plugins, editing, and coding (if you’re into that sort of thing).

The downside? It is on the higher side in terms of price. Shopify plans are not ‘cheap’ and in addition to the sales fees and the costs of apps, it can start to rack up a hefty monthly bill. The payments themselves are easy and not confusing whatsoever as it is all billed at once and easily accessible – but your wallet might not be too happy.

These high costs become easier to bare once you begin having a steady income stream. Before that I would suggest you avoid the glamor of unnecessary apps and stick to the free ones to cut your cost.

Overall Shopify is a great option amongst many, very commonly used, has an already great SEO due to it’s commonality – all for a price you need to be willing to pay.

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility

Our Expert Review

Muninder Adavelli
https://websitebuilder.org/
May 2, 2017

During the last couple of years, many online store builders have appeared on the market, and picking the right one for your niche represents the first step towards building a great online store. Shopify with more than 400,000 satisfied users without a doubt is the best, and easiest to use e-commerce platform available on the market these days. Small learning curve, a multitude of great features makes it easy to perform e-commerce activity on Shopify.

To kick things off, those who are just starting out can register for a 14-day trial, during which they’ll be able to test out most of the features that Shopify provides to build an excellent e-commerce website. After the 14-day period, users can then choose which pricing solution best fits their needs.

In this Shopify review, I will target some of the main factors that a potential user must know before choosing to conduct his/here commerce business on the platform. These factors include usability, themes, speed, responsiveness, SEO, billing, integration, features, support, and a FAQ.


Usability

Because e-commerce platform is all about selling products, let’s get to the core functionality of the platform- adding and maintaining products in Shopify sites. Shopify allows you to quickly add multiple variants of the same product and vary their prices based on the size, material, and color of the product. With options to easily include product details such as weight, price in the product description, possibility to change color, the format of descriptions and with options to add images in multiple angles, Shopify makes it incredibly easy to make product pages and products look good while making them search engines friendly. Additionally, options like uploading products in bulk, easy categorizing of products using collections, creating manual discount collections, options to share products or collections on social media makes store maintenance a lot easier.

Themes

Themes are bound to ensure the success of any e-commerce platform, as they are the design language of your site, and one of the main factors that can attract other users. With this in mind, let’s discuss Shopify themes. All designs available on Shopify are bound to be extremely responsive and are created using Liquid, a platform’s language. On installing the Shopify themes, full access to code is given, thus allowing modifications to the design.

Regarding, being search engine and user-friendly, Shopify makes sure that their every theme is contrast tested to have better display on all devices, generates valid HTML, be accessible with keyboard shortcuts and functions properly on all major browsers, including Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and IE9.
Shopify also allows designers to create new designs and sell them on Shopify Marketplace. Every design submitted to Shopify will undergo a strict evaluation process to make sure it is responsive and search engine friendly.


Speed

When it comes to running an online store, speed represents an essential factor, as most visitors tend to be impatient and want to leave a slow loading web store. To stay ahead in this aspect, Shopify uses world class CDN, run by Fastly, to load website fast throughout the globe, at no extra costs.
It all sounds awesome! But let’s see how these cool things translate in numbers. We chose four random sites built on Shopify and ran a speed test using Gtmetrix. Proofs time!

Shopify Loading Speed Test

Page speed grade on GtMetrix, for all four sites show around 70, which is a bit more than average. Because websites on Shopify being mostly web stores with loads of images, better image size optimization might make website loading speed better. Among those four sites, the sites with better page load speed tend to have better CSS sprites combining.

In case the loading times aren’t up to your expectations, you can follow optimization guides from Shopify. By fixing things like image size, minifying CSS or JavaScript, better speeds are possible in most cases. Also if you are a premium customer, you can always reach out to their support team and let them know the kinds issues you are facing regarding speed. They will in most cases help you optimize web pages load speed


Responsiveness 

As mentioned earlier in designs section, every Shopify theme is responsive. The same four sites tested for page load speed were also tested for their responsive and mobile friendly nature. All of the sites that we have tested were responsive and rendered well on desktops, mobile phones, and tablets. But regarding loading speed on mobile phones, we did see some surprising results.

Below are the results for sites we tested. All the sites fluctuate around 45 on Google Page Speed Insights which seems to be a poor score. However, it is also important to keep in mind that those are e-commerce sites with homepage sizes of 3-4mb.

https://www.dodocase.com/              48/100
https://www.masterdynamic.com/  46/100
https://www.getdubs.com/                48/100
https://blackmilkclothing.com/        45/100


Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

No matter how good the store looks, unless it won’t get traffic from search engines, commerce activity won’t start. Shopify offers a multitude of options to improve the on-page SEO of the web store, and the first thing I would like to mention in that category would be the ability of every Shopify theme to generate clean code to make search engine crawling easy. Like all other website and store builders, Shopify also allows you to edit header tags, meta descriptions, titles of every page, product, post,  and also has options to avoid duplicate content. Shopify also allows you to edit URLs, generates sitemaps automatically and provides free SSL certificate for every paid plan. Additionally, if you want to use Shopify to review products, it has apps to makes such reviewing process quite easy.


Billing

Shopify sounds quite nice so far, doesn’t it? Well, my friend, as a business owner you should know that quality has its price. Shopify is not the cheapest option in the market. And the kicker is not the monthly payment for a premium version of their services, but the transaction charges, credit card fees you are supposed to spend for every product sold using the platform. However, if you are using Shopify Payments, those extra spendings can be avoided. You will get to know more about Shopify Payments in later sections.

There are three main visible plans and one invisible $9 per month plan which offers a buy button which you can use on other outside blogs, websites and social media platforms such as Facebook.

Shopify pricing

It is important to note the fact that the bigger your plan of choice is, the less the transaction for each product sold through the platform. Also, buying an annual plan can save as much as 10%.


Integration

Shopify offers a significant number of Apps—over 1,500—so you can add more function, automate a lot of business tasks, and, customize your store to satisfy your every need. Shopify has a total of 644 free apps that can be used to facilitate almost any function an online store needs. Not only this, but Shopify also comes along with a total of 1104 advanced, paid apps, which can be used to add numerous extra features to your online store. Some of the areas that the apps can help facilitate, include, but are not limited to sales, marketing, customer service, shipping, inventory management and more.

Shopify Loading Speed Test

 


Features

Payments:

Shopify is expensive, and other transaction charges make it even more pricey.  Fortunately, it does offer Shopify payment gateway, which can help you save transaction costs if you are from United States, Australia, Canada, and Ireland. For those from other countries, Shopify supports 70 payment gateways to accept credit card payments, and as mentioned earlier by using other payment gateways, there will be Shopify transaction charges+credit card fees of 2.9% + 30cents. PayPal can also be integrated directly into the payment section.


Orders

Order section on dashboard displays the list of orders placed by the customer, list of pending orders. Order placed and not delivered is an unfulfilled order. Product shipped to the customer is a fulfilled order. The order section also manages to send confirmation emails about confirmed order to customers. Order fulfilling can be automated, semi-automated or manually done. For automation, all you need is the one-time configuration of delivery with checkout. Additionally, for Shopify users in USA and Canada, shipping can also be automated with Shopify Shipping. Shopify order section also allows you to check details about abandoned customers who add a product to cart and don’t buy which you can use for remarketing process.

The Sales Channels

Shopify has sales channels to let- you sell your products on websites, social media, mobile apps. You can manage them individually through sales channel option in the dashboard.

The Buy Button

This is the basic sales channel with which you can sell products on your website or blogs built on other platforms like WordPress, Tumblr, Squarespace.  The button can also be added directly to emails sent through the email marketing campaigns.Buy button can be integrated and customized according to the blog or website theme so that you can maintain the brand of your blog or website

Messenger

Shopify with messenger option allows you to connect with Facebook account and business page to interact with your customers from Facebook.

Facebook

Shopify allows you organize your shop on Facebook. There are detailed guides on how to organize the Facebook shop. You can also only use the option to get social media attention if you’d like to.

Point of Sale (POS)

A point of sale (POS) feature is also available. After installing the POS app from the sales channel, you should be able to enable the retail packages. It’s worth pointing out the fact that the bigger package you decide to buy, the more POS staff accounts. POS app is compatible with iPad or iPhone, which will help you manage multiple points of sale, using your phone.

KIT

This is yet another of the many great features being offered by Shopify. It represents an official Facebook marketing partner, which will allow you to market your store on the internet, by helping you run Facebook and Instagram-based ads. It also uses dynamic ads, which can increase your ROI, and retargets customers .


Support

Upon using an e-commerce website builder, the chances are that you will need to get in touch with the customer support team at least once. If this is the case, Shopify has a live chat feature. On a typical working day, reaching customer support via live chat might take around 5-10. If you don’t want to wait in queues for live chat, you can send Shopify an email explaining your issue, and you’ll likely get a reply soon.

Customer support team from Shopify are both patient and friendly. They refer to themselves as e-commerce gurus and are bound to offer you the support that you need. During my test, I chatted with the support team for around an hour, on various issues, and was more than satisfied with their response. In addition to theses, Shopify also provides support via phone.

Overall Score
4.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Pros
  •     Easy to use: No programming or technical knowledge needed. Just a few clicks and you’ll be able to set up a good looking, functional online shop all by yourself.
  •     Designs: Beautiful, professional responsive themes . You can also tweak them to your liking
  •     Apps: With more 1100 apps you can add more functions, features to your store and customize it to satisfy your every need
  •     Support: Technically sound support staff will answer all your questions round the clock
Cons
  •     Shopify is costly compared to all its competitors. Extra charges such as transactions costs, app and theme costs add up to the pain
  •     Mobile loading speeds are not as good as they are for desktops
  •     Finding a developer to customize designs for your store might be difficult as it uses Liquid, its own programming language. This might also create problems when you want to move to different platform

Shopify Frequently Asked Questions

Is Shopify safe? What security features does Shopify implement?

Financial transactions using Shopify are safe.A 256-bit SSL certificate to ensures the security.

Does Shopify provides SSL certificate?

All paid plans except the $9 buy button, includes SSL certificate

How easy is inventory management on Shopify?

The inventory management system is pretty flexible. Users can automate the management process, by using collection, and sorting the products according to their colour, price, sales, availability and more. In case you decide to use the inventory ID or barcode system, the inventory management will be even easier, thanks to the automation processes brought to you by Shopify.

Is the Shopify payment gateway cool? How can I use my favorite gateway?

The Shopify payment gateway is powered by Stripe, and is pretty good. It can help get rid of the extra work needed to choose and configure a third party payment gateway provider. Not only this, but by using the Shopify-based solution, you will also get rid of the transaction charges, and the card percentage tax. Unfortunately, the Shopify payment gateway isn’t available in all countries, so there may be times when you’ll need to go ahead and configure a third party system to handle payments.

My Shopify store is loading slowly, what should I do?

At this moment in time, there are tons of things that can be done to speed up websites, including reducing image sizes, using inline JavaScript, minifying JS and CSS. Not only this, but you can also get in touch with the support team about the issue, and they’ll be happy to offer their assistance and do what they can to speed up your e-commerce website.

I am not satisfied with Shopify. Can I easily move to another provider?

During our chats with the support team, we found that this is indeed possible. All data will be exported under .csv format, which is not truly used a lot these days. Not only this, but as the themes are developed using the liquid language, exporting them may be a bit difficult. Traditional software isn’t used by Shopify, so this is a factor worth keeping into consideration. You can move to another provider, but it won’t be too easy.

Do I need to purchase hosting and the domain separately?

Hosting is provided by Shopify free of charge, whereas the domain has to be purchased, at $13 for each domain. Domains can also be bought from other providers.

Can I add bulk products on Shopify?

Yes, this is possible by importing them from a .csv file.

Where can I find answers to all the weird questions, apart from support?

The Shopify community is quite big at this time, and there are a multitude of discussions which are simple, advanced and even silly in some cases, so don’t be afraid to ask the community for help as well. Shopify also offers an extensive FAQ on some of the most frequently asked questions, with simple answers.

Free WordPress Themes, Free Android Games