Wix Reviews

OUR SCORE
9.6

Wix is one of the most popular website building software and for good reason – it is very easy to use, has the most affordable pricing structure, and overall the most features. Beginners will get by just fine, but the sheer amount of templates, add-ons and options to choose from could overwhelm if you don’t have patience. In that sense it could take you longer to create your site (but you will benefit for it in the long run). Wix is perfect for regular sites, blogging, basic eCommerce, and industry themed sites (business, health etc), due to its range of themes.

  •     14-Day Money Back for Premium Plan
  •     Fully Customizable Experience with 500± Templates
  •     Powerful Drag and Drop

94 Wix User Reviews

Scores

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Overall

94 Reviews
3.8 out of 5 Stars

Tried Wix?

Write A Review

User Reviews

Rachit Sethia
www.rachitsethia.com
May 28, 2017
Overall Score
4.1
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Altin
www.apollon-tours.com
May 27, 2017

Wix is slow and I hate their costumer support. Would change when I have the opportunity. 

Overall Score
2.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
1 Iron Golf, Inc.
https://www.1irongolf.com/
May 27, 2017

We have been an internet based company for 20 years and switched to WIX for  updated html protocols.  Very good with the exception of their eCommerce platform.  We use PayPal as our credit card processor and initially nothing was transferring over to PayPal other than the total balance.  After going back and forth between PayPal and WIX we were finally able to have product options transferred to PayPal, but to this day the customer comments/special instructions do not transfer over. WIX does not provide a usable packing slip so we have to use the one generated from PayPal.  This requires going back and forth between the two to produce a usable packing slip.

Overall Score
0.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Yolande
www.Cosmobeauty.net
May 26, 2017

Extremely easy and fun to build your own website. Supportive and flexible templates for any Bussiness, reasonably priced.

Took me one week to build my website, and its very simple and easy to edit and make changes along the way.

 

 

Overall Score
4.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
May 26, 2017

My previous site i had someone that was experienced and they disappeared on me. I had to find a quick fix that would not subject me to the unprofessional-ism of another designer. WIX PUT THE POWER IN MY HANDS!!!

Overall Score
4.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Khaled Wagdy
KhaledWagdy.com
May 26, 2017

I didn’t use anything before, Wix is the first website builder I try, so, I can’t 100% neutral. My opinion WIX is great website builder for making online profile and  blogs, etc.

 

Overall Score
4.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Simon Kenworthy
www.knownaim.co.uk
May 25, 2017

I use WIX to build websites for my clients who’s time could be better spent running their own businesses. As a Graphic Designer who dos’nt know code I find it a very useful platform as it allows me to design a website in line with their brand style from a blank canvas using a similar method to what I would creating a print item in Adobe. It’s very well designed and intuitive to use. The only down side is the sites are not fully responsive. A mobile version of the desktop site is created separately that has very limited control over its layout.  That said it’s the best website builder I’ve come across and is great for my other business; www.otso.clothing where I have used it to create an online shop. It has fantastic functionality including all the necessary payment gateways, stock listings, creating coupon codes and the ability to send out bespoke email campaigns.

Overall Score
4.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
A.D. Cook
ADCookDesign.com
May 24, 2017

I’m a huge fan of WiX, and have built several WiX sites.

WiX is simple to use, fun to create with and has empowered me to create memorable sites.

Overall Score
4.1
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Adam Apalategui
www,bendgreencab.com
May 24, 2017

We have been using WIX (bendgreencab.com) for 2.5 years now and have been very happy…although I have been too busy to refresh site as much as I should.

Haven’t run into anything I need that WIX doesn’t have, although our site isn’t overly complex. Pricing is good, super easy to use…

 

Overall Score
4.6
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
CDNattys
www.nattygreenes.com
May 24, 2017

Wix is a great platform to use if your web budget is small and you want real time updating access. With a little bit of playing around and practice it’s super easy to build and manage your site. We’ve also found that the Email Marketing side is really accessible and user friendly as well as the E-Store elements. Basically, Wix does everything we need for our site! 

Overall Score
4.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Christine Showell
www.cochranefitness.com
May 24, 2017

We transferred our website to Wix from the previous owner of our business. Moving the site was quick and easy with the assistance of the Support Team. Creating a fresh look and new image was simple using the templates available. Wix Websites are really for the everyday person who wants to represent their business in a professional and clean way. Love our Wix website! 

Overall Score
5.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Karto77
bobsowder.com, sowdergroup.com, drronwebster.com, + 2 in the works
May 24, 2017

Templates are beautiful and modern. They are the best I’ve seen compared to a variety of other companies offering website building. They offer tremendous ease, options and flexibility to customize as needed.  While I’ve had minimal issues, I wish Support response time and access was better.

Overall Score
4.1
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
May 24, 2017
Overall Score
3.9
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Gina Czarnecki
www.ginaczarnecki.com
May 24, 2017

I Changed my website over from 1&1 to wix after years of needing others to do my site for me and needing to take more control. I love it, its so visual and easy and the online help is fantastic – im still very much learning how to do this but even at this stage its possible to build a really great looking website. 

Overall Score
0.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
David
www.masqlistas.com
May 24, 2017

WIX is perfect if you don´t have time to design your own web. They have a lot of apps that makes really easy your job. If you need add content every day it is really fast because it is just drag and drop your text, photos or videos.

I only had one problem along my time in WIX, you can not see source code, so you got that limit if you need to add some code, like affiliates program codes. In that case I was in contact with WIX support team, and they add it, but it is a faith act, because you could not check it, you can see it by yourself.

They got several prices plans, with good prices. But if you want to manage your domain, it is quite different, they are more expensive than other suppliers, around 3 euros more for a .com. I don not use them in this case.

In conclusion, WIX is awesome for tools, prices and customer support. I would recommend WIX to other people for a hosting provider.

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Kieran Revell
www.kieranrevell.com
May 24, 2017

I had the pleasure to work with Ellen Smith. From the very first email, there was great communication and some very positive work done. Ellen was patient, open and collaborative at ever stage.

I got exactly what I wanted (and needed). I was surprised on many occasions with the quality of the work and Ellen’s great suggestions. The website far surpassed my expectations.

Overall Score
5.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Aurelio Tealdi
www.auryweb.com
May 24, 2017

Sorry for my little english 🙂

I’m the owner of an italian shop that sell computer and software.
I’m always looking for new software to develope web site and fortunately i’ve found wix !!!
It’s simple and easy to make professional site including seo and sem.
Now i’m working to improve my site www.auryweb.com and other site,
At the moment it’s the best for all level of web site
Overall Score
4.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Brook
Www.coloradopuppy.org
May 23, 2017

I use wix for my business. It’s user friendly and can be updated by any employee from any desk/lap top with Internet. 

I would like to be able to update my website by phone. 

Overall Score
4.1
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Danielle
www.usafricachamber.org
May 23, 2017

I love Wix. There’s only been a few things I haven’t been able to do with Wix – but overall, it’s AWESOME. It’s pretty much the industry standard for online website builders.

Overall Score
4.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Amanda
www.discovercentral.net
May 23, 2017

I love Wix! I have used Wix for over 2 years now to create websites for my real estate and economic development consulting clients. It is an extremely user friendly platform with so many amazing features to use to create beautiful sites. 

Overall Score
4.9
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
May 23, 2017

Ok for me as i built my website first time. 

Overall Score
3.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Irina Bjørnø
www.belbookstoday.com www.belbooks.dk www.belbooks-ru.com
May 22, 2017

I love WIX websidebuilder – and I have suggested this web-builder to my friends – og I did additinal several homeparties to show people how easy it works. I have  built several webpages myself – together with newsletters pages, events pages, videoblogs, book release pages. I recommend WIX  – easy to work, easy to implement social sites, and – the most important – WIX is very dynamic company, who is eager to try all new things, which comes to internet everyday.

You can not find better partner for your e-business – only WIX! 

Overall Score
0.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Kully Fuerstenau
www.kully.me
May 22, 2017

I created a website for my own design portfolio and for two clients using Wix. Super easy to put everything together, user friendly and affordable. Good alternative for those who have lower budget and need a short time solution, as well as autonomy to update content easily and fast. Also, no need for HTML coding experience required, which is super cool. Overall a great tool.

 

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Joshua Esnard
thecutbuddy.com
May 22, 2017

Overall one of the best options for a start up. Simple and easy. Anyone can basically build a site on Wix.

I think they can work on integrations with merchant processing better. They don’t have a Shopify app integration which is little annoying. It is all through code… The coding is not easy to modify also.

They are a community based online support company…so at times it gets annoying trying to find an answer to a problem. Most of the time they have great advice though.

Overall great product… our product is a viral beard shaping tool and Wix has been able to sustain our traffic and sales. 

 

Overall Score
4.6
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Brinston Carvalho
May 22, 2017

WIX is an optimal website builder specially for those mostly interested in the design aspect of the website development. Updates in design and content is easy to use and no external CMS is required.

From a design perspective, WIX serves the best purpose, economically.

Overall Score
4.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Kimberly Lowe
www.KaganKorea.com
May 22, 2017

I was a long-term client with GoDaddy for nearly 20 years.  However, their website builder accompany-ments seemed to become fewer and fewer.  Wix captured my attention with their Superbowl ad in 2015 and I hopped on to check it out.  I was so impressed that I moved all of our websites over to Wix.  It is extremely user friendly, easily customizable, and has what seems to be an endless array of add-ons to make websites do just what you need it to do.   When I have come across a few issues (totally all mine), the support has been immediate and very helpful.  Their pricing is also really great, offering different levels of service and payment options.  This makes Wix very affordable and workable with any budget.  The other really cool thing is that your Wix platform comes with different tools you may need for your business such as automated emails, contact management, invoicing, and email marketing.  Super cool to have it all under one roof.  We have 10 or so websites now, all on Wix, for our projects and projects for clients.  I totally love Wix and would highly, highly recommend to anyone looking for a one-stop-shop for business controls and website hosting and design.  

Overall Score
5.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Ioannes Karamitelios
Www.bettysbooths.com
May 21, 2017
We have been using wix for a little over 2 years now. I find it quite useful and user friendly. There is however a limit to what you can do that can get a little frustrating, such as fonts and picture editing options.
 
I am happy with what we are paying for.
Overall Score
4.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Keri Knutson
alchemybookcovers.com
May 21, 2017

I created a website for my graphic design business over a single weekend using Wix. Once I chose a template, it was incredibly easy to put together. It’s also easy to edit and make changes. The pricing is very reasonable, and it allows me to group my internet business expenses together. It’s a great choice for someone who has no HTML coding experience and doesn’t want to spend a lot of time fidgeting with a website. I would highly recommend it for simple eCommerce and personal professional pages.

Overall Score
4.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Arca Conceito
www.arcaconceito.com.br
May 21, 2017
I think wix a very good low coast website solution. I never worked with no other website constructor but wit is very helpful.

 
I think sometimes the website looks like a wix website with buttons and other layouts and its not very good.
 
In general Im satisfect with this tool.
 
Overall Score
3.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Karen
redfeather.com.au
May 21, 2017

As my first attempt at building a website, I found Wix relatively easy to navigate and managed to build a successful site with a blog. It is easy for me to go in and make changes. I do get frustrated that I cannot use Mailchimp and have had a few issues trying to link my Privacy policy. The widgets are still confusing to me and I do not find the faq’s very helpful. I think Wix is fine for a simple website.

Overall Score
3.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Neil Morris
shift-one.ca
May 20, 2017
Overall Score
3.7
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Parthenia Grant, PhD
www.doctorparthenia.com
May 20, 2017

If you thought you could never build your own website from scratch because you are not technologically savvy, think again!  Hands down, Wix is the most user friendly website builder ever.  In fact, the variety of templates and themes allows users to create websites that are sleek, eye catching and professional looking at the same time.  It also offers the most up to date options for keeping your website current.  But the best part is that even a dummy can do it. 

Overall Score
4.6
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Kevin Polak
www.khen.info
May 20, 2017

easy and convenient without having to learn how to write HTML or any other language. what you see is what you get. even separate adjustable for phones. 

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Katy Preston
www.redwood-designs.co.uk
May 19, 2017

I’ve used Wix (amongst other platforms) for my clients. Obviously it doesn’t exceed the likes of WordPress for flexibility but when we’re talking about low cost AND quality WIX is certainly the best for the small businesses on my books. I say small businesses as you can’t plough SEO into it – but for the price I wouldn’t expect to. Out of all the basic builders I’ve used WIX exceeds them all. With good design skills you can really generate a very good website from it. 

Support : I can’t comment as I’ve never needed to contact them

Pricing: Good pricing structures and decent cost

Templates: A vast amount to choose from although I always go bespoke

Themes: As above

Flexibilty – Very flexible although obviously there are things not possible. For the price I wouldn’t expect miracles though. For me and my small business customers it does exactly what I want it to. For larger clients who want more functionality it isn’t really an option.

Overall Score
4.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
CJ Rapp
http://www.wsi1clicksolutions.com/
May 18, 2017

I’ve been building websites for SMBs on WIX for several years now because the Ajax drop and drag systems is so easy for none technical users. I got fed up with Go Daddy’s antiquated website builder and lack of apps, tools, and advanced SEO settings. I now rank WIX over Word Press because it has fewer security issues and is indexed as well as a WP site by Google once Search Console is set up. 

Mobile optimization is very easy, and now SSL certification of websites is included on the platform which helps with organic SEO page rank.

Overall Score
4.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Dave Wright
www.artrobbins.com
May 18, 2017

I moved from Squarespace to WIX to build a new web site.

Support: Support is rather weak. I have not been able to resolve any issues through their support. I was unable to add Google meta data to prove ownership. I had and issue with an app, their solution was delete 30+ pages from the website and upgrade to their new editor. Upgrading to the new editor was only supported for a limited number of pages.  

The pages have large boxes. The individual box look to be different size on different browsers even though I tried to bot manually enter the sizes and positions and use their alignment design tools.

Pricing: Pricing seems fair. This was not a major consideration for us, so I did not evaluate this other than it did not seem out of bounds.

Template: Nice selection of templates to get started with.

Themes: Nice selection of themes.

Flexibility: You can do quite a bit with the tools provided and develop your own look for a website. The tools are easy use. There are some serious limitation to developing multiple menus.

We are pleased with the new website and have gotten very positive, unsolicited feedback from customers. For building a web site without any coding, it has worked well for us. 

Overall Score
3.7
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Stephen
www.soilbank.com.au
May 18, 2017

WIX is an excellent platform which allows for very easy visual layout design, user interface testing and in my experience is absolutely fine with SEO. Many developers suggest WIX and its code is SEO unfriendly but I have found it to absolutely fine. 

I also use WordPress and Squarespace and WIX is definitely the most flexible and easy to adapt of the three platforms.

Just be careful to optimise uploaded images and check the mobile layout as WIX doesn’t automatically translate the desktop layout to mobile in a satisfactory way like some WordPress themes do. Luckily the mobile preview editor is easy to use.

 

Pricewise, WIX is more expensive than buying a hosting package if you are intending on having several websites. A single WIX annual subscription would pay for site hosting plus multiple WordPress sites on Siteground. If you like the idea of a one-stop shop hosting and excellent design package then WIX is really 10/10

Overall Score
4.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Luisa Elena Sucre
http://www.luisaelenacoach.com/
May 17, 2017
My experience with Wix has been excellent! I love and recommend this platform.
 
I have built two  web sites as yet, that are already active. The process was very intuitive because the platform is very friendly.
 
I´m TOTALLY SATISFIED with Wix. Thank you very much for your contact, and congrats for the Wix Team!
Overall Score
4.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Stuart Henderson
www.nicaphotos.com
May 17, 2017

I have used Wix for a couple of years for different types of websites, Tour company, hotel, bar, and a restaurant. I have become very comfortable with the system. I have found a couple of issues that they should develop better. Language. when using for a hotel, I found the system could do MUCH better with the language application.  Online ordering was sufficient. Over all for the general user not wanting to much technical learning this system is good. I also develop sites with WordPress but this system requires a more technical mind.

In Summary I would recommend this system for the beginner or the person too busy to work online regularly.  

Overall Score
4.7
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Wylamar
https://www.ganhecomsitesptc.com
May 17, 2017

Depois que entrei no Wix, acabou minhas dúvidas, eles tem várias vídeos aulas ensinando como fazer um site do começo ao fim, e muitos tutoriais tirando suas dúvidas.

Overall Score
4.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Wylamar
www.ganhecomsitesptc.com
May 17, 2017
Overall Score
4.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Amy Mayer
www.friedtechnology.com
May 17, 2017

Wix is my go to website builder when I need something fast and attractive. I find it relatively easy to manage and to build within. Aesthetically, it’s great compared to other tools I’ve tried. The choice of free templates is outstanding as well. If I needed a full-fledged shop site I would probably go ahead and use WordPress because of the flexibility but for a self-managed site, Wix is the way to go. 

Overall Score
4.1
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Angel
http://www.fowleracademysp.com/
May 17, 2017

I’ve found Wix Website Builder to be a most intuitive, straightforward and easy to use tool in website building for both amateurs and professionals. Many thanks to the Wix Team for the successful development of their wonderful Website Builder.

Overall Score
0.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Mike Cauchi
https://www.mikecauchiart.com/
May 17, 2017

Overall, my experience using the Wix website building tools has been great!
So, if you don’t want to spend too much time reading this review Wix gets my recommendation.

I love that Wix requires no HTML experience to create a pretty site in moments, my site was created in a few hours and looks pretty much identical to how it does now so Wix certainly is fast!
Primarily, I use my website to host examples of my work, give away free content and write tutorials.
I tend to use the blogging features of the site builder to publish my tutorials and as a whole the experience is fast and smooth however what is missing is a way to present your blog posts by category. By that I mean you can set up filters to allow people to isolate certain content but you can not show your blog posts in the order that you want.

The online store features are very good however I have not found a way to give away free digital content on the site without needing bank information which seems a little pointless to me.

Still though, those problems are pretty small and are not what most people will care about so Wix gets a thumbs up from me!

Overall Score
4.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Luke Ahmed, CISSP
https://www.studynotesandtheory.com
May 17, 2017

I switched from WordPress to Wix because doesn’t take a lot of coding, and they have some beautiful themes.  It is very easy to use the dashboard, there is no coding needed . There is no coding required because WIX does not allow you to have access to their backend, unlike WordPress where you can code all you want.  

WordPress had 24 hour support, while Wix has 9-5 Mon to Fri support, not the most ideal at times.  

Still…the benefits of cool design options, the ease of use, and the general elegance of Wix has kept me with them.  They don’t deal with plugins, so you lower the risk of installing a random plugin that crashes your entire site . WIX provides all additional apps from their own developers, or approved external developers.  

If you are looking for quick ease of use without technical configs, use WIX.

 

If you want to customize almost everything and know what you’re doing, WordPress is a good choice.   

Overall Score
3.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Priscilla
Www.bubbasweets.con
May 17, 2017

My business website program is Wix and I’ve had a great experience setting up every last detail with ease. Contacting the company for help is the only problem I’ve run into but I’m happy with the result I got. 

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Marina Cook
www.howslife.co.uk
May 17, 2017

Having no previous website building experience, I found Wix really user friendly and intuitive. Even my 70 year old father learnt how to do it.

Highly recommend!

Overall Score
4.9
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
David Lee
www.davidleeedtech.org
May 17, 2017

As a former EdTech specialist and technology teacher at an elementary school, I have tested out countless website builders to see which one would be best for my students. I found that my 3rd to 5th grade students loved using Wix the most because it was the simplest platform to use as well as having the option to manipulate the design of their website in any way they wanted. Most of all, students loved that aesthetics was a huge part of the Wix experience. 

Overall Score
4.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Huy Nguyen
www.lamthanhpottery.com.vn
May 17, 2017

Our company use Wix to design almost all websites.

Wix is very good for webmaster who don’t know about web code.

It’s easy to use and design your own creative website.

Wix is also friendly with SEO, email marketing,… 

In my opinion,  Wix is more flexible than the other website builders like weebly, webs,…

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Tristan Wingfield
www.BarefootStudio.com
May 16, 2017

I began my website building journey almost 7 years ago when my wife and I purchased a business that had been around since 1995. I was taken aback when going through the financials I found that a local webbuilder/master was charging the company over $900 per year to maintain and host a pretty much static website. The only changes this guy was making were swapping a jpg file of a schedule once or twice a year when the seasons changed. Needless to say I got in contact with him and purchased our domain from him right then and there. I first took the domain to godaddy but realized shortly that the website builder that they offered simply wasn’t what I needed. After messing with a few different website builders I settled on Wix thinking it could at least offer me a pretty easy build. I quickly found that the tools they offer and the coaching they offer via chat and helplines were totally invaluable to me. I know not only have a wonderful looking website, because of the coaching on using 301 redirects from their staff we maintained our #1 google ranking for our keywords in our market (something I hadn’t thought would change). There are some things here and there about the builder that give me a headache sometimes but for the most part it’s a really simple, and powerful website builder. Since creating our company website, I’ve built several other websites using Wix. Watch out for the nickle and diming the app store can hit you with! This isn’t Wix’s fauilt entirely as most of the apps are thrid party, but it really wouldn’t take much for Wix to implement some of the easier aspects of them and offer them as being included with your yearly payments. 

Overall Score
4.6
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Pablo Potokski
www.isoftland.com
May 16, 2017

Wix is a very friendly and , at the same time, powerful application.

It makes things look great reallly easy, and has a lot of extensions to add functionality.

I really recommend it !

Overall Score
4.1
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Christian
www.narusports.com
May 16, 2017

We use Wix for almost all our websites since it’s really easy to create a good-looking site in just a few minutes.

 

Their plugins store is extremely small and not many free apps.

 

Overall Score
3.9
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Heather
May 15, 2017

After having my word press site hacked multiple times and thousands of dollars later I was introduced to the WIX platform and I’ve NEVER turned back.

I love how easy it is to design and make changes. 
I hired a designer to create the overall look and feel.

Anyone can use the WIX platform and I encourage people to switch from WP to WIX if you want your site to be protected 

Overall Score
5.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Invesdoor® Real Estate
Invesdoor.com
May 15, 2017

I appreciate that WIX offers a large variety of templates and is a very easy platform to use.  They are continuously updating their templates to keep up with the current web designs which is definitely a plus.  There are some limitations with using templates like IDX.  All-in-all, this is a great tool to use to build your site.

Overall Score
4.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Jamie
blackdogcoffee.com
May 15, 2017

I have built a few websites using Wix and I have found them to be the most user friendly with the best selection of templates. Everything is very intuitive and really easy to figure out. The websites always look like a very expensive site built by a professional. I get compliments on them all the time!

Overall Score
5.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Artrem
www.grand.com.ru
May 15, 2017

Здравствуйте. Выражаю Вам благодарность за отлично разработанную платформу для написания сайтов новичками и не только. При работе в создании сайтов всегда получаю позитив эмоций, отличное настроение.

На данный момент благодаря, большому количеству тем и гибкости в различных операция с шаблонированием, мной написано два сайта на данной платформе:

www.grand-ua.com 

www.grand.com.ru

Желаю дальнейшего процветания Вашей компании.
С глубоким уважением Астахов Артем
Абалиева
+79281785223; +380668874014; e-mail: astahov1984@gmail.com

 

Overall Score
0.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Val Tignini
www.valsecrets.com
May 15, 2017

I really enjoy using Wix. I love all the different features and stylistic options. It helps me create a beautiful website. It’s a bit clunky when having to change things around a bit, but I cannot complain. I found it to be the best platform out there. 

Overall Score
0.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Marc
www.kizmusique.com
May 15, 2017

Really Helpfull when you don’t know how to write in HTML or PHP. 

Abviously you can’t do EVERYTHING but almost and without write a code 🙂 The interface is really good too. You can have some troubles sometimes but the support is reactive and this is still a “new” platform so no doubt that in a couple of year it would be perfect. 

I use it for 4 years now and I already saw a lot of improvement !

Overall Score
4.7
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
May 14, 2017

I always use wix its easy but i do have a photoshop/ layouting background, it can get tricky to those who dont but am sure most people using it have knowledge on this.

The templates can get better or just need updated ones.

 

Overall Score
0.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
PAula Rosales
www.bluepalawanopen.com
May 14, 2017
Overall Score
3.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
nanlika
www.exportcitygroup.com
May 13, 2017

Easy and fast way to publish company website without maintaining the site. I don’t use e-commerce feature but highly recommend anyone who want a professional looking company website(s)!

Overall Score
4.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Riyad Badr
www.riyadbadr.com
May 13, 2017

The best way to discribe wix.com is that I started to recommend it to friends who never thought of an website but already convienced when they heard me and saw wix.com how its easy and flexable. some advices due to that most of my friends are Arabic speaking they are wellig to have the builder in Arabic as well in the future because not many of them speak other languages and this will open a door for wix.com in the Arabic world since not much options available so far accept WORD Press. and I hope you considere to enable more than one Blog on the website to resolve many limitation we face in creating flexable pages.

Best regards,

 

Overall Score
4.7
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Myra Jago Painting
www.myrajago.com
May 13, 2017

I came from free WordPress to Wix Premium because I needed a slicker website to show my paintings. Wix is definitely slicker, but still has limitations in its design processes. Being an artist, I like to mess around with presentation, but Wix is having none of that! – Their templates aren’t very malleable, so beware which one you begin with! I can spend hours fine tuning a new page, which is annoying because I should be doing what I do best – painting. Still, I like the look I have achieved, which is more professional than my old free WordPress website. You get what you pay for.  

Overall Score
2.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Deb Carr
www.sydneychic.com.au
May 12, 2017

I’ve used WIX since 2013 and I have three websites. I also build all my client’s websites on WIX. Recently WIX let me down badly,  they shut my account because of a bank transaction dispute without any consultation with me whatsoever. It was a very stressful 24 hours and I was lucky to get my account back after it cost me AUD 281. WIX shutting down my blog would have destroyed me. The whole incident happened due to what I consider a flaw in the WIX billing system.  For this reason, I am now looking at moving my blog to WordPress but I’ll keep my other websites on WIX. Apart from the incident above, WIX is easy to use, offers stock images for free, and have great templates, and I will continue to keep my smaller websites with WIX. 

Overall Score
3.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Brent Wilson
Wilson Bros Nursery
May 12, 2017

I’ve used WIX to build a website for my company and to build several other business websites for friends. I usually start out with a themed template but modify it as needed. WIX is exceptionally easy to work with, the flexibility is great, and the end result is always an awesome looking, ate-of-the-art website! Another good thing is that once I’ve built a website for a friend it’s very easy to train them how to edit it themselves. I would definitely recommend WIX to almost anyone looking to build a simply but attractive website. For what it is, it’s great…provided you don’t need to go any deeper than category>subcategory.  

Overall Score
4.7
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Kiki Plesha
I have three sites, all built with Wix: www.ionindiemagazine.com www.ashleywineland.com www.rockmotherpromotions.com
May 12, 2017

The Wix platform offers ease of use (you don’t have to be a “techie”) and a great selection of options for those without the “eye” for design. It’s pretty idiot-proof. With so many people hanging out a shingle and claiming to be web site developers/designers–and commanding top dollar–this offers an affordable DIY option and is user-friendly. It also allows for the ability to update your site yourself, without having to call in the cavalry–which is a PLUS when time is a commodity and your information constantly changes and numerous sections are continuously updated. As editor of a busy magazine and also, as a publicist, I know first impressions are paramount. I DO tend to judge a business by the appearance of their web site. It’s a shame that some of these people/businesses are paying exorbitant amounts of money for sub-standard web sites. I highly recommend Wix whenever someone asks, “Who did your web site?” and I say, “Me!”.  If I had to find a chink in the armor, it would be in Wix’s Tech Support. Much of the time, when I run into a glitch, I have to figure it out for myself. 

Overall Score
4.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Guido Biland
alphatext.com / leisi.com
May 12, 2017

I was looking for a website builder that doesn’t demand Albert Einstein’s IQ to make it work. I’m completely lost when it comes to website technology. And I am not ashamed of it. Let’s put it this way: If I want to move fast I prefer to use a car. Driving a car is simple. You open the door, turn the ignition key and put your foot on the throttle. It’s as simple as that. Publishing something on the Internet has to be the same sort of experience. I’m not interested in car or website manufacturing. I just want to move forward quickly. That’s exactly what WIX.com is about – moving forward quickly. If you are not Albert Einstein and have nevertheless something interesting to say, try WIX.com. I managed to publish two websites in no time. The other one is leisi.com. I was staggered when I looked at the results. Would you reckon that all this was done by an HTML idiot?

There is one slight problem however. I once had a technical problem establishing a mail account. I have sent a message to WIX.com’s support team. I have never received an answer. Bad point for WIX.com there.

Overall Score
3.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
martin brown
www.martinbrownmosaics.com
May 12, 2017

I have 2 websites with Wix and have found them easy to use and flexible as far as formatting and changing . Price wise they are not the most reasonable , but are value for money in regards to ease for use.

Overall Score
3.7
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
James Francel
jameserickphotographyutah.com
May 11, 2017
Overall Score
4.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Mohammed Khan
Www.nixab.com
May 11, 2017

Wix is a very good solution for building a hassle free and scalable website with the latest features. 

Overall Score
3.9
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Chris Lin
Chrislin.co
May 10, 2017

The best way I can describe how I feel about Wix is that I really like it, because I’m so used to it.

I never use templates, but they look good enough. Contact forms look a bit unprofessional directly out of the editor.

Wix does, however, offer a LOT of flexibility once you figure out how to get into it. A smidge of experience with other site builders have given me the impression of far less of that. An example would be that while unadvertised, any of Wix’s image elements support animated gifs – even hover buttons! 

In any event, from a technical standpoint, the editor lags quite a bit sometimes, and loading times on sites aren’t the best if you really fill’em up. I’m suffering from mild stockholm syndrome, I think.

Overall Score
4.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Wylamar
https://www.ganhecomsitesptc.com
May 10, 2017

Amigos adorei o Wix, de fácil aprendizado e bastante simples de  se construir um site, a maioria das instruções estão no próprio Wix, agora está melhor ainda nessa nova plataforma de construir sites que houve um grande avanço nessas melhorias, recomendo o mesmo, abraços.

Overall Score
4.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Milli
www.millicentstclaire.com
May 10, 2017

I’ve been a hostage in website hell with so-called designers selling me on what they could do and then not deliver. I’ve paid out the nose for expertise and got no satisfaction whatsoever. Not to mention continual charges although I had all of my content ready. I’m okay with word press but its evolving so fast, and I just want my stuff put up beautifully, not have to become a webmaster to make that happen.

I then decided to learn and do it for myself. I’ve tried many different platforms over the years and as a small business owner and consumer, I love WIX. I realize that these platforms are evolving and its got everything a small business needs including e-commerce/stores, password protected pages, membership capabilities, landing pages, light boxes, videos, audio, downloadable, and many other features such as their shout out emails and customer management system. Then there is their booking systems for setting appointments, multiple inboxes and emails, and other features. I got in the flow with their system and now I feel like a pro. I like the “get inspired” tab where I can see other actual live sites and get ideas from. When I think about the price of an outside email services and membership sites, WIX wins hands down.

Although I’m not a web designer, I’ve built many sites for other people and have developed a fine set of skills which enables me to help others and empower them, and I think it is fantastic program. I prefer it over some of the others website builders (and I’ve tried several). The templates offer me maximum flexibility. It doesn’t matter which template I use, I can make changes and customize things on the spot.

I recently ran into a girlfriend who was weeping and gnashing teeth over hassles and delays with her word press designer. Another hostage. My heart went out to her so I looked the site and then convinced her to let me recreate it for her with WIX just to prove it was possible. We sat together and I recreated an entire word press site that hadn’t been launched and you couldn’t be the wiser. It is beautiful and I did all of the things she wanted and more, and she watched it happen in two days. I was glad to be able to set another web hostage free from website hell with WIX and empower her with easy to use tools so she can make simple updates for herself.

Now many of my family and friends look to me for support as they know their sites will be elegant and user friendly. More important, they can make updates and changes themselves. What else is there? WIX has my vote in a big way. Hostage no more with WIX!

Overall Score
5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Mandy
www.thedakkery.com
May 10, 2017

I’m really happy with Wix. I needed a drag and drop builder that allowed me to create simple, neat sites that convey information and look good and function properly. I don’t do anything fancy (though it seems that you can do a lot more with it than I can do), I just wanted to have my nice photos and videos and all the information I’m trying to convey there, and I didn’t want a steep learning curve as I have better things to do with my time. I have had issues with photo size and how they subsequently appear in the gallery, and I am still trying to resolve this. One other problem is that I’ve built my sites on my Mac (and checked the functionality on my iPhone and iPad) and I’ve noticed that it doesn’t appear quite the same on PCs. Overall highly recommend though if you’re in a similar position to me.

Overall Score
3.7
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Tara Todd
Www.creationofmiracles.com
May 9, 2017
Overall Score
4.9
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Gareth
www.brokenjawtravel.com
May 4, 2017

Wix is really a bit of a mixed bag. As someone who was setting up my first website, they seemed at first ideal. The price was reasonable and while there are a significant amount of add-ons required to make your website to a standard as you might expect, generally I felt as though I was getting good value for money. The ability for even an amateur like myself to create a highly sophisticated and professional looking website was far beyond my expectations and if it is aesthetics you’re after, Wix is up there with the best. The major downside however, comes down to social media sharing. It is not possible to create a unique twitter summary card for each page of your site which is a major drawback while Facebook posts also utilise the same image for each page of your website rather than a unique image for every page, which again, can become monotonous. Pinterest suffers from a separate problem in which the image for each page can be unique but it only likes back to your homepage rather than a particular post. If Wix manage to iron these problems out, I would be all too happy to stay with their service but honestly, these problems are too big to ignore and may result in them losing customers, myself included. Which is unfortunate because like I said, the visual element is superb

Overall Score
3.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Juho
https://www.fidiproimpact.com/
May 4, 2017
Overall Score
3.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
IVAN
http://www.das-furniture.com/
May 4, 2017
Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Nick
May 4, 2017

A good platform for amatuer, causal designer or self-starter.

Good for causal site / informational site.
But recommended for eCommerce or other feature rich purpose. Minimal flexibility when it come to real website development.

A rather slow and inefficient support.

Overall, a good value for building causal informational site.
Much like using iMovie to director cut your masterpiece.

Overall Score
3.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Chris
www.phazon.com
May 4, 2017
  • Pros: Lots of great features and themes, user-friendly
  • Cons: Not always reliable, few bugs there, poor e-commerce platform, increased page loading time
Overall Score
4.1
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Chris
www.phazon.com
May 4, 2017
  • Pros: Lots of great features and themes, user-friendly
  • Cons: Not always reliable, few bugs there, weak e-commerce platform, increased page loading time
Overall Score
4.1
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Steve Carlsson
www.stevecarlsson.com
May 3, 2017

I used Wix for the first time and found it very easy to create a great look and feel to my site. I’ve coded sites before, but because I am not experienced with coding I found it too hard to get what I wanted to work. Thanks Wix.

Overall Score
0.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
konstadina Ang
www.dancefestival.gr
May 3, 2017

It is very easy to build a new website with wix even if your are not familiar with website building.  I would like online chat for support as you did when I began to be wix client. 

Overall Score
4.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Dor Ben Dov
www.israelvacationrental.net
May 1, 2017

Building the site with Wix was easy. However, the site still misses many things Wix can’t offer. Getting a support is very hard. It’s not my first and only site on Wix. 

Overall Score
3.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
James Francel
jameserickphotographyutah.com
May 1, 2017

I have found the WIX platform very easy to use to create beautiful and functional websites.

Overall Score
4.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Eduardo
blueland.com.br
May 1, 2017

Wix é uma boa ferramenta para desenvolvimento de sites, porem com o tempo, enfrentei alguns problemas. O ultimo tem a ver com o pagamento, cadastrei o cartão de crédito de meu cliente para ser debitado todos os meses o valor do site que montamos, porem a WIX replicou o cartão dele e cobrou indevidamente outros 8 planos. Foi um transtorno e tanto, a consequência que perdi um cliente. Desde de então estou atento a novos desenvolvedores como Wix e testantando novas plataformas. 

Overall Score
3.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Cinzia Bragantini
www.cinziabragantini.com
April 30, 2017

I chose Wix because it is a simple and easy to use website builder, where I could create my ideal website on my own, regardless my limited graphic skills, with a standard pc and in a short time. I previously used a web agency but I was not satisfied, while with Wix  I could make my choices, add photos, videos, create content on my own, when I want, how I want. It’s flexible, perfect for my activity and with the right price.

Sometimes it failed in updating or creating some new pieces and it is long to upload in administration mode.

Another suggestion is the assistance: it provides only written standard feedback on questions or problems, while in some cases it would be better to speak with somebody whom to explain the specific issue.

Overall Score
4.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Nikhil Pawar
https://www.dopemotions.com
April 29, 2017

I have been using Wix from last 4 years now and my experience has been incredibly good in term of editing the website like it’s just dragging and dropping and as far as support is concerned I faced no issues whatsoever. The entire platform is straightforward, and I didn’t need the help of support once.

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Will Chatham
https://www.willchatham.com
April 26, 2017

I have been a WordPress developer for well over a decade, and I have to admit that the Wix editor has done a lot of things correctly, and it has made building a Wix website something to consider in most cases. In fact, I’ve started recommending Wix over other solutions for the “do it yourselfers” who are interested in building their own website.

The Wix editor is intuitive and easy to learn without needing to spend time learning technical lingo or any code. The vast array of options you get for making a layout, choosing fonts, colors, and more, make the editor a very powerful tool. I am amazed at how useful it really is. All of this is packed into a web-based editing tool that is quite responsive and quick for what it can do.

There are a lot of SEO options you can use as well, which I have yet to really see the results of, but at least they are there. 

My only qualms about Wix is the price tag if you add any e-commerce/shopping cart features to it. You spend time making this beautiful website only to find out what you will need to pay to keep it. It can be a shocker unless you’ve researched it ahead of time. Still, this makes more sense for many people depending on the scenario, and paying a web designer can cost much more.

Overall Score
3.5
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
anonymous
canbim.com
April 25, 2017
I like the Wix functionality and the options for site elements. This is very good.
 
I have however up until my last phone call…not felt as though the staff handling the customer service have been particularly supportive and helpful. I don’t know the gent’s name but the last gent I spoke to was the only one that thought to dive a little deeper on the issues I was experiencing. I had complained of a slow Editor on the wix platform a few times ..the Wix Editor was taking too long to edit elements, type words, resize images, generally the experience was and is still very delayed…we targeted many areas that could be causing the issue. Previous to my last call I felt as though the staff did not care to service my needs. I felt rushed off the phone as if the problem was all mine… It seemed like they were only willing to investigate as far as their “know-how” allowed them…we checked the speed of my internet, we tried clearing my cache, we tried using another computer with better processing power, we tried a different internet connection, I updated my browser…I am sure we tried other things…..but none of these customer service reps thought to look into my website and identify the fact that I had a lot of data heavy files and quite possibly this simple fact could be the cause of my delays…admittedly we do have a lot of photos etc. Now I have not actually removed or minimized my photos but I do feel this could very likely be a big part of the problem.
 
 
It was also explained to me by an Apple employee that the Wix service is on a server and we as customers access this server and every time I make a change the entire system is reconfiguring and reloading..and these changes need to pass through the pipeline..naturally this is going to take longer especially if I have large files on my site….but then I began wondering if there is something Wix can do to enhance this performance so that even though I am accessing your servers and working remotely…can Wix not isolate the page I am accessing and have it so I only refresh that one page rather than my entire website each time I make a change…I am not a computer whiz so I am not sure I am fully understanding the issue..in any event my Wix platform is still very slow…and I even tried the best Mac at the mac store and still experienced the same delays…so it is either the amount of data I have on my site…or the Wix platform needs more horsepower…please tell me your thoughts.
Overall Score
3.3
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Lucia Pavelkova
April 25, 2017

Don’t get me wrong. Wix is great if you want to build easy-to-use websites quickly, without paying major fees. But their customer support team is what I’m really unsatisfied with. This is so for several reasons. Firstly, it took 3 days for an answer to come in, and this isn’t really acceptable since I’m paying for the service, and not expecting freebies. The answers are also standard, and don’t have a personal touch to them, which makes me thing that they’re templates, which is annoying in case you want an actual answer coming from an expert in the field. There’s also no online chat if you need quicker answers, so if you’re in my situation, and you’re planning a renewal, I wouldn’t do it. If you don’t think you’ll be asking customer support too many questions in the future, then by all means, buy a Wix package. The experience is wonderful.

Overall Score
3.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Mahinder Reddy
April 25, 2017

Wix helped me get rid of expensive website developers and built my first site, with no background in website building whatsoever. It took me around 3 hours to set everything up. I’m also extremely happy with the tools being offered, such as e-commerce, emails and so on, therefore I would recommend Wix to anyone, regardless of whether they are planning a quick website, or a more complex one. I also found that security is pretty good, as I had some issues with my log in, and it took me a while to get my password back, which is actually great!

Overall Score
4.8
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Josh Wardini
April 25, 2017

Right now, I have two sites built with the help of Wix. With one, I chose the unlimited package, whereas the other has the basic one. The differences aren’t THAT big. But paying more is bound to give you access to better quality services as well. Some of the main benefits I found were faster customer support answers, and a better selection of features when building the website. Let’s not forget to mention that higher storage and everything else, but this won’t really be the reason why you purchase a higher package. I’m not very satisfied with the mobile view of the websites though. While they work, there are times when the pages won’t optimize as they should and everything else, but all in all, I’m satisfied with the services being offered.

Overall Score
4.0
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Harsha Kiran
https://betfy.co.uk
April 17, 2017

I’ve been hosting my domain with the help of Wix for the past year or so, and during this time, I faced no issues whatsoever. The entire platform is straightforward, and I didn’t need the help of support once. I’ll surely be buying and hosting another domain with the help of Wix soon enough.

Overall Score
4.2
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility

Our Expert Review

Harsha
www.websitebuilder.org
April 17, 2017

Wix Under the Microscope

Wix is not an alien word, if you have done some searching for website building tools. It is a one of the top website builder in the market, helping around 100 million people build their websites without any technical knowledge of web programming. Thanks to its interesting features, that number is only set to grow. Considering the fact that, it is a very straight forward, easy to use website builder for the beginners and has enough options coming in for the experienced Wix.com users, it is no surprise that it has huge customer base.

And as good as all these sounds, you know us. We take nothing for granted. So—like always—we did our research to write this Wix Review. We put Wix to the test and gave it a close look, and here are our results.

But first, a brief overview about the company.

Who is Wix?

Wix is a unique, website builder service, started by Avishai Abrahami, Nadav Abrahami, and Giora Kaplan in 2006. Wix is an idea that popped up as a side effect of some other project of Wix creators. While they were trying to develop a website for some other project, they figured how hard and costly is to develop a website. That is when they decided to start a platform that makes website development, a lot easier to help users without technical knowledge and experience in building websites to develop websites.

By April 2010 Wix had 3.5 million users and had raised so far $10 million in Series C funding. One year later Wix doubled its size and raised $40 million in Series D funding. Today, eleven years later since the company first entered the market, Wix founders and the rest of the Wix team—valued at $61 million—are helping over 90 million users with no programming skills to create beautiful, professional and functional web page—or at least that’s what they claim to do.

Now, for many of us—and surely for you too—, Wix has become a synonym for website builder. The question is, is it as good as they paint themselves? We’ve put Wix under the microscope to give you this detailed Wix.com review.

A close look to Wix


Design

For users to design or change the look of their website, Wix has two options, Wix ADI and Wix Editor.

ADI, Artificial Design Intelligence is a unique system of Wix.com, which builds a unique site design based on the inputs given by customer. This system develops designs using the combinations of numerous Wix elements such as layouts, pages, icons and images.  However, like other website builders, they do have a regular editor, Wix Editor, where you can start designing from scratch by adding wix elements on a blank page or choose a design from Wix repository with hundreds of well designed templates and use all possible wix elements such as background, buttons, boxes, slideshows etc. Wix has a detailed guides on using all wix elements which can be found here.

Wix templates developed using Html5 and Ajax gives professional and finished look to website.  The drag and drop option on almost all Wix elements will allow you to customize and give your site,  a unique look. But of course, benefits are never the full story. Just like all other website builders, Wix designs also has some backlogs, that they have to look into in their future versions.

According to us, the major drawback that tops in design section of Wix is the inflexibility. Inflexibility in changing the templates when ever you want and Swapping from ADI editor to Regular Editor,

Once, you choose a design, you are forced to use that design forever unless you are not ready to build a whole new site from scratch using new template. The same is with choosing ADI editor, once you choose ADI to design a template and look for your website, it wont let you go back to regular WIX editor, where you can do lot of your own customization.


Pricing

Is Wix completely free? No, it isn’t. But like most other website builders, Wix offers new users the chance to try out their services and features for free. This free version, provided to anyone who signs up to the platform, includes full usage of Wix’s design and editing platform, 500 MB of storage, 1GB bandwidth, and free hosting. I should say, however, the sites created with the free version, displays a small bar in the top-right corner of the screen that advertises Wix and free site’s URL has following structure – “wixusernam.wix.xom/sitename”. But, overall, the free version is pretty solid if you don’t worry about the branding issue.

If you looking for more advanced feature, increased bandwidth and storage, Wix have 5 different paid versions, with each version designed to suit needs of users from different range of users.  The following picture details all features provided in different premium packages and their prices

 


Loading speed

Loading speed of the website has considerable impact on search engines page rankings. So, if you want to get traffic for your site—who doesn’t? —, you better pay attention to this section. Wix with its automatic image optimization feature, will optimize images on your websites to improve the loading speed. Also to increase the loading time, it has progressive JPEG images. Wix, like all top website builders and hosting companies, uses CDN to increase the speed of loading. CDN is an interconnected system of cache servers in different geographical locations and Wix uses closest cache servers to your visitor’s geographical location to fetch the content to his browser faster, so, no matter where your visitors/customers are from, your Wix website will still be accessible to them with increase speed in loading time.

It all sounds really nice, right? But how does that translate into numbers. Well, we ran some tests with GTmetrix to give you some proofs through this Wix review—and please take into account the results of loading speed along with website builders choice also depend on many other factors such as time of the day, type of internet connection, template chosen, page size of the website and even device chosen—and the average loading time is 18.6 seconds. (We used 4 different sites with different templates) And that, my friend, is barely acceptable. Wix’s loading speed is not as bad as others, but it definitely is not the best. Despite all their fancy technology, they could do a lot better.


Mobile Friendliness

World is going mobile and if you want to catch that wave and keep your visitors happy, you will have to make sure, your website is rendering well on small mobile screen while loading fast using those tiny resources on mobiles. To make your website load fast on smaller devices, Wix provides mobile optimization option, with which each template is automatically optimized for mobiles and in addition there is also Wix Mobile View—a.k.a. the mobile editor—which lets you do some of your own customizations such as changing colors and background images to your sites for mobile devices.

Not all themes in Wix repository are completely responsive as for Wix themes to be  completely responsive should use all full width elements and not all themes uses all full width elements. Here is the list of those templates that are designed using full width elements. If you are not using a newer responsive template, you can include all important features of your website on full width elements available in your template.  Here is list of full width elements

In a nutshell, although the the designs in Wix are not developed using technology that can easily make websites completely responsive, you can still make a mobile friendly Wix website with some research on the designs you choose for your website.


SEO

Wix has all the features needed to do basic on page optimization on every page. Some of the main SEO features of Wix website builder include the page’s metatags (title, description, etc.), alt text for images, heating tags from H2 to H7, anchor links, redirecting tools, added Google Analytics System, site verification. Wix also has a SEO Wizard that guides you through the way of making your website more SEO friendly. So, yes, the essentials are there, they do have a decent on-page SEO toolset.

But there’s a difference—and a big one—between “it works and it’s easy” and “it’s the right solution and it’s easy”. And, unfortunately, Wix is no up to the ideal, and here’s why.

AJAX, a technology that is used in Wix templates is still known to have problems in indexing the web pages properly in the search engines.  Additionally, Wix subpages that uses AJAX will have to create hasty URL structures with special symbols like !, # being included in the URLS.

Despite all of these, it is not the end of the world. Most websites only need the bare basics—and Wix does provide them—but, if SEO is essential to your long-term marketing strategy, then Wix probably isn’t the best option for you.


Integration

Wix have more than 260 apps available for you to integrate into your Wix website. And that number definitely sets them apart from their competition. These 3rd party apps include tools and services that extend Wix’s functionality to not only personalize your page, but also to help you build a better, more functional website. And if their number of apps wasn’t impressive enough, check this out: Wixs users are averaging more than 42,000 installations… per day! That is 15 million app installations per year. Wix user sure love Wix’s app market.

The App Market includes apps such as live chat widgets by LiveChat and shopping carts by Shopify. It also offers other functional services, like schedulers, reservation tools, social widgets, or marketing tools. Most of these apps are free, but you can also buy their Premium version to access more options. With hundreds of 3rd party apps available in their impressive App Market, Wix is constantly introducing new add-ons to its users—way to go, Wix!


Interactivity

Interacting with your customers is easy with Wix. You can add a Signup/Login element, which allows you to create membership sites. Members can be manually or automatically approved and pages can be set to Members Only, where you can upload you most exclusive content—and even some special offers to pamper your most loyal customers—therefore building the expectations of your visitors, and thus, making your site much more interesting to the general public.

You can also add some other special features and elements— from their massive App Market, of course—to further interact with your visitors. Different apps like forums, guestbooks, real-time comment feeds, and even premium online booking are all available in Wix to enhance your page and improve the user’s experience when they stop by, to hopefully encourage them to come back!


Blogging

Wix’s blogging feature is actually a pretty good add-on for your site. The Blog Manager comes with all the little nuances I personally like to see in a blog editor. There are a lot of great blogging features, such as editing and publishing—of course—, the ability to attach images or videos directly to the post, categorizes posts, save drafts, leave comments via Facebook or Disqus, it allows you to decide which post you want to feature on your site’s main page, and it even lets you schedule the post to be made live at a later date for your convenience.

Wix’s blogging system is also SEO friendly, since it comes with most of the features that you’ll need, like tags, categories, RSS and others. And if you are in a rush and need to post or edit a post ASAP, with the Wix mobile app you can edit and publish articles on the go. The post editor itself is just beautiful—you’ll actually enjoy writing in it. So, if were to put Wix vs. WordPress—the king of blogging—, Wix would still be up to the task. All in all, Wix present users with an intuitive, do-it-yourself blogging system that I am sure you’ll love.


Support

Let me just state by saying that Wix offers a very user-friendly interface, with lots of direction cues and prompts. For example, each editable element in your design includes a question mark. All you have to do is click it to get additional information and practical advice. You learn as you build. But, if you happen you face a serious problem that you can’t fix by yourself, there are a few options available. First, there’s the Wix Help Center, which allows you to search questions and keywords on their page. You’ll find many categories there, such as “domains”, “the Wix editor”, “mailboxes”, and many more, under which you’ll find the answer to your problem. Wix also offers a lot of text-based and video tutorials.

So, it’s up to you whether you prefer to look at the steps on how to make you won website or read all about them. You can also visit their Forum, which is an active community This support forum has many practical question posted by users and solutions mostly provided by Wix support staff. All questions go public and Wix as a well known company in the market, answers them quite quickly.  Although all this seems interesting, there is always a chance that every individual might face a unique problem for there are no solutions provided in both support forum or Wix help guides. To solve these situations, Wix only provides email support or support call back service via phone. A live chat support for all like other top website and store builders would be a better addition. However, If you are VIP plan customer, you can get access to their VIP team.


Business mail

When contemplating your professional appearance in the eyes of your existing customers—and more importantly, potential customers—everything should be considered, including your email address. Using a business email address such as info@mybusiness.com instead of anything with a hotmail or yahoo termination, will dramatically enhance the professional appearance of your business, therefore attracting new customers and retaining existing ones.

That been said, unfortunately, none of the Wix Premium Plans—even less so the free version of it— include an email address or mailbox for your website. But that’s not the end of it, because you can actually purchase a mailbox separately. For an extra $4.08 a month you can purchase a personalized mailbox from G Suite by Google through Wix. This seamless integration with G Suit allows you to manage many other G Suite applications under your now personalized domain. Or, if that’s the case, you can simply connect an existing email purchased anywhere else.

No, Wix doesn’t include a mailbox service in their paid packages—which really is a boomer—but for a fair price, you can easily get it through G Suite—which is pretty much a guarantee of efficiency.


Multiple Websites

With Wix, you can create as many sites as you need under one single account. It is completely free to create multiple new sites! Nevertheless, a Premium Plan is valid for one site only. So, if you don’t mind having Wix adds all over your page, and being stuck with a not very attractive Wix style domain, by all means, go nuts creating all the sites you need or want. But, if you want to have two sites with different domains and still enjoy all of the benefits of a paid package, you need to upgrade both of these sites—which, to me, it’s a pretty fair deal.


Final Verdict

After putting to the test the various features, tools, and apps that Wix has to offer, I’ve got to admit that Wix is one of the best and most reliable website builders I’ve ever used. Nearly every step I took was smooth, reliable, and expertly guided.

When compared to the other major online website building tools, Wix does appear to come out on top. So, yes, I may sound overly excited thid my enthusiasm is totally justified. Professional themes, well functioning drag drop feature, useful app market, customer support forum with solutions for almost all practical issues and option to practically learn about all the features and functions of Wix website builder using their free plan made it easy for me to design a website

Overall Score
4.4
Support
Pricing
Templating
Themes
Flexibility
Pros
  •     An incredibly intuitive builder, among the best in the industry
  •     Free version lets users create and host beautiful websites at no charge
  •     Hundreds of exceptionally designed templates to serve almost any purpose or industry
  •     Wix App Market integrates with many popular web services, enabling live support, newsletters, contests, reservation tools, and testimonials on your website
  •     Outstanding customer support service via email, phone, and forum
Cons
  •     Too much design freedom means your site can end up looking less than stellar
  •     Templates can’t be change; once you’ve chosen your initial template, you are locked in with it
  •     Despite all of the technology they use to improve their times, loading speed—regardless of the template you’re using—is hardly average
  •     SEO functions are just basic and AJAX technology makes it hard to be found on Google and other browsers
  •     

Wix Frequently Asked Questions

What is Wix?

Wix is an online company that provides web hosting and website building services. Instead of coding a site from scratch, users can choose pre-designed themes and personalized it using drag-and-drop technology.

Who is it for?

The broad selection of themes and templates in Wix library make it a good option for practically any niche. Wix has 13 main categories with templates for every need: business, music, entertainment, online store, blog, hotel and travel, restaurant and hospitality, photography, creative arts, design, retail and fashion, community and education, and landing pages.

What plans are available?

Wix offers 5 different paid versions—or premium packages as they called them. The packages range from the lowest $5 to $25 per month. Each version is better than the one before, mainly upgrading bandwidth and storage.

What are the payment and billing options?

Wix accepts payments via major credit cards only—Visa, Master Card, American express— and bills either monthly, annually, or bi-annually. They also offer a 14-days money back guarantee.

Are there any discounts available?

Yes. Wix users who sign on for a longer plan and pay up front get up to a 50% discount.

Is there a free trial?

Yes. Wix also offers a free version—not trial, but a full on free plan—of their services. It includes full usage of Wix’s design and editing platform, 500 MB of storage, 1 GB bandwidth, and free hosting.

Can I integrate apps to personalize my website?

Yes. Wix offers more than 260 apps in their App Market that include a broad selection of tools and services to extend your page’s functionality. The Wix team is constantly introducing new add-ons to their App Market, so you can always find everything you need to satisfy yours and your user’s needs.

Is Wix mobile friendly?

Yes, both for design and usage. With the mobile app you can tweak your site right from your phone, tablet, or any other mobile device, and it works just as fine as the desktop editor. Also, Wix automatically offers a mobile-optimized version for all of their templates so users—regardless of the device they are visiting you from—have an enjoyable experience with your website.

What SEO features does Wix offers?

Wix allows users to edit the page’s metatags (title, description and others), alt text for images, heading tags from H1 to H7, anchor links, redirecting tools, added Google Analytics System, site verification, among others. Wix has the entire SEO essentials for your page.

Can I buy a domain with Wix?

Yes, you can. Wix does let you purchase domains and most of their plans—premium packages, that is—include a free year of domain registration. If not, you can still have a personalized domain, although it will read like this “wixusername.wix.com/sitename”, which isn’t very attractive.

What kind of support is available?

Wix offer a broad number of solutions to answer your queries. First, there’s the Wix Help Center, where you can search for your question or keyword to find an answer. You can also visit their Forum, where users constantly post their questions and the support team, and even other members of the community, help each other. You can also contact a Wix expert directly through email or phone anytime between 6 am to 5 pm PST. VIP plan users get direct access to the Wix VIP support team.

Free WordPress Themes, Free Android Games